In 1997, after two years of playoff disappointments, the Scabs focused on the importance of the playoffs rather than regular season statistics. It all led up to a memorable playoff run and championship game that would match an upstart Scab squad with the Chickens, who were three-time reigning NorCal champions. This was not only the first championship for the team, but in many ways was the most important. It proved the Scabs could win playing their system and beat a very good team doing so.

All three goal scorers in the final game would go on to spend the next ten years playing with the club. Those days are gone forever, over a long time ago -- long before venue changes and surviving league contraction -- long before they would ever think about being the team to beat in the 00's.

In 1998, the Scabs would relocate to a new building where they would win both the Spring and Fall championships. These would be the last championships with the Scabs name, giving way to the Rotten People later that year.

1998 also saw the change of Steve Barker from Goalie #32 to Forward #20. That year Barker won championships both in net and as a forward. He is the only player in the history of the franchise to do so. This opened the door for Eric Rich's #60 Hall of Fame career.

Notable events of that year are Jay Filichia #3 being threatened to be shot by an opposing player after a third period altercation in the Fall Championship game and Tony Wheeler #13 scoring the only penalty shot in team history.

In 2000, the Rotten People won their first Championship in their new building, the first in their new colors -- Yellow, Black and Duct, and the first with the Rotten People name.

With stellar goaltending by Eric Rich #60, the People surrendered only two goals per game in the first two rounds.

In the finals, they faced their old rivals the Dragons. With balanced scoring and physical defense that had become the trademark of the team, the People were unstoppable, winning their fourth Championship.

This was the first championship for All Time Team Members Joe Marrujo #31 and Oliver Nocidal #25. The playoff run was the highlight of Ben Laughter's #27 Rotten People career.


The Rotten People 2001 championship win is currently not documented.

In 2002, the Rotten People won back-to-back titles for the first time in team history. With new comers and old faces all contributing on offense and defense, this was the most balanced attack the team had ever had.
With newly supplied energy from Sarnoski #4 and Ross #2, with the signing in the Fall of Kotsubo #9, and with the same fan favorites on defense, all the pieces were in place. The Rotten People were becoming the team to beat. They would be crowned champions four out of the next six seaons beginning in 2002.

In the Fall 2002 finals, Scott Spurrier #11 once again displayed what it took to be a Rotten person when he disregarded a personal commitment to play with the team and scored one of his biggest playoff goals.


In 2003, the team would win two more championships, which would make them the first team to win nine championships in California. This would be the year that every member of the All Time Team played together and would cement the Rotten People in hockey folklore.
In the Fall of 2003, with a 5-5 regular season mark, the Peole knocked off the top three seeds for their second championship of the year, making them 4-time champions over a six season span from Spring 2002 to Fall 2003.

Tony Wheeler displayed what it took to play on the Rotten People blue line when he challanged Viper Kelly Spain #23 to shoot it at his chest instead of at the net. Spain did as challanged, the puck stayed out of the net, the Rotten People won the game and took another step toward immortality.


In 2005, Tony Wheeler #13 won his last championship with the team. With the news that this would be Wheeler's last season becoming public, the season became a media frenzy. The team seemed to ignore the pageantry of the limelight and rallied around the thought of sending #13 out a winner.

With Justin Sarnoski #4 and Sean Kotsubo #9 not in the line up, the team did what needed to be done. Keeping scores down and converting on their chances when it counted was all it took. The Rotten People had their tenth championship in ten years.

Tony was called on later that year when the team ran into injury problems, and he performed like he had never left. When the year ended, Wheeler walked away with eight titles and being a memorable part of the best defense to ever play the game. In 2006, Tony Wheeler's #13 was retired as he was the first member inducted into the Rotten People Hall of Fame.

The 2005 playoffs were a shining moment offensively for Oliver Nocidal #25 with his best playoff performance in the yellow with 1-4-5 in two games. This was also the best playoff run for Joey Ross #2, and he was honored with MVP for his efforts.

Steve Barker #32 Jay Filichia #3 Sean Kotsubo #9 Joe Marrujo #31 Gordon Mueller #22 Oliver Nocidal #25 Eric Rich #60 Joey Ross #2 Justin Sarnoski #4 Don Somera #47 Scott Spurrier #11 Tony Wheeler #13